Triathlon Canada Names 2010 President’s Team

The President’s Team is named each year in recognition of the extraordinary achievements of Canada’s age group athletes who will compete at the World Championships in Budapest, Hungary, September 8-12, 2010 who have won either their age group at the 2009 National Championships, or had a podium performance at the 2009 World Championships in Australia. This year’s team, which consists of athlete’s in the Olympic, sprint and paratriathlon race disciplines, includes:


Grant Darby Hamilton, ON
Charles Moreau Trois-Rivieres, QC
Kim Wedgerfield Calgary, AB

Sprint Distance Age Group

Baska Ujejski Toronto, ON 45-49
Robert Johnson Vancouver, B.C. 25-29
Anton Nel Okotoks, AB 35-39
Mike Cooper Edmonton, AB 55-59
Gordon Bertie Edmonton, AB 60-64

Olympic Distance

Harry Braaksma Toronto, ON 70-74
Suzanne Chandler Vancouver, B.C. 35-39
Stephanie Kieffer Vancouver, B.C. 40-44
Quentin Pollock Victoria, B.C. 50-54
Margaret Ritchie Edmonton, AB 50-54
Laurie Murray Canmore, AB 60-64
Steve Hardwicke Penticton, B.C. 65-69
Paul Poffenroth Calgary, AB 70-74
Kate MacPherson Calgary, AB 30-34

Triathlon Canada President, Stephen Holmes will officially honour each of the athlete’s during a team function at the 2010 World Championships in Budapest, Hungary.

Triathlon Canada is the governing body for triathlon in the country. Recognized as an Olympic medal sport since 2000, Triathlon Canada’s mandate is to promote, foster, organize and develop the sport of triathlon, and its related disciplines, in Canada.

Triathlon Canada Press Release