ITU Worlds DAY 1- junior elite

McWilliam Junior World Champion

June 5, 2008

For the second straight year Great Britain won the junior women’s world championship. Kirsty McWilliam of Glasgow, Scotland overcame cold and wet conditions in Vancouver, Canada to win today’s junior world title. “It was freezing out there this morning but I’m from Scotland so I’m very used to it,” said McWilliam.

Ashleigh Gentle of Australia out-sprinted Hungarian Zsofia Toth down the final stretch to take silver. It was the second straight year Gentle has won silver at the junior world championships.

Anais Moniz of Portugal, the junior world champion from 2005, and Alena Stawczynski of Germany led the junior women out of the water and headed out onto the 20-kilometer bike course alone. The two held a 23-second lead after the swim but was pulled into the chase pack on the second lap of the bike.

McWilliam was down by more than 20 seconds after the swim but quickly bridged up to the leaders on the second lap of the bike. After entering the second transition even with Stawczynski, McWilliam began to take control of the race. Midway through the 5-kilometer run, the Scot had built an insurmountable 39-second lead. Carrying the British and Scottish flags, McWilliam crossed the line in tears as she was crowed the 2008 junior world champion. Last year McWilliam finished 7th, a race won by her countrywoman Hollie Avil.

Gentle and Toth came down ran together for most of the run but Gentle showed off her strong final finishing kick to outsprint Toth to the line. Zimbabwe’s Ashley Finaughty finished in fourth place while Aussie Emma Jackson rounded out the top five. Canadian hopeful Paula Findlay finished in 9th place. Junior Women – Unofficial Results 1 Kirsty McWilliam - Great Britain 1:04:05.03 2 Ashleigh Gentle - Australia 1:04:43.40 3 Zsofia Toth - Hungary 1:04:47.15 4 Ashley Finaughty - Zimbabwe 1:05:07.80 5 Emma Jackson - Australia 1:05:18.56 6 Alena Stawczynski - Germany 1:05:22.88 7 Claudia Rivas - Mexico 1:05:23.70 8 Maaike Caelers - Netherlands 1:05:27.19 9 Paula Findlay - Canada 1:05:28.01 10 Nataliya Efremova - Russia 1:05:32.57 Click here for official results

Luis wins Junior Men’s World Title

June 5, 2008

Bronze last year in Hamburg and gold this year in Vancouver for Vincent Luis of France as he won today’s triathlon junior world championships. Despite the steady rainfall and winter-like temperatures, Luis seemed at ease and coasted to a comfortable 30-second margin of victory. He adds the prestigious junior world title to the European junior title he won last month in Lisbon. Russian Denis Vasiliev took the silver while Great Britain’s Jonathon Brownlee came from behind to take bronze.

Water temperature was measured at a chilly 13 degrees as the junior men took the start line at the English Bay beach. Luis and Vasiliev were among the leaders as they exited the water while Brownlee was almost 20 second behind. Athletes had to carefully negotiate the tight corners on the 20-kilometer bike course as the rain created slick conditions. A lead group of three that included Luis and Vasiliev, along with Australian Joshua Amberger, quickly formed and began to put distance between their chasers. As the three men took the bell lap they were up by a full minute and ten seconds.

Luis was first out of T2 and immediately set the pace on the 5-kilometer run course. The French teenager from Paris took command and wouldn’t relinquish the lead as he ran to his first ever junior world championship. Last year he was third behind his teammate Aurelien Raphael who won last year. Luis becomes the fourth Frenchman to be crowned junior world champion. Vasiliev managed to hold onto silver while Brownlee completed an impressive comeback during the run to secure the final spot on the podium. Amberger came across the line in fourth place while Mexico’s Rodrigo Gonzalez rounded out the top five.

Junior Men – Unofficial Results 1 Vincent Luis - France 0:57:06 2 Denis Vasiliev - Russia 0:57:36 3 Jonathon Brownlee - Great Britain 0:57:43 4 Joshua Amberger - Australia 0:57:52 5 Rodrigo Gonzalez - Mexico 0:58:19 6 Franz Loeschke - Germany 0:58:24 7 Min Ho Heo - Korea 0:58:26 8 Igor Polyanskiy - Russia 0:58:35 9 Tom Davison - New Zealand 0:58:39 10 David Obozil - France 0:58:40

Click here for official results Click here for official website of the world championships Click here for ITU’s world championship page